Insulation · Field guide

Attic Insulation Cost: Top-Up, Air Sealing and Access

An attic retrofit quote should distinguish additional insulation from the finished total. Air sealing, access, baffles and existing-material work may drive cost beyond the coverage packs.

By Alish Gautam, Software Developer · Updated

Put the measurements to work

Open Attic Insulation Calculator →

Enter your project and product dimensions to see the net requirement, allowance and rounded purchase quantity.

Dated US market references

These published ranges provide an early budget comparison. They are broad US dollar references, verified on 4 October 2026. Local quotes, selected products and the complete job scope determine your price. They do not populate calculator prices or convert to other countries’ markets.

Check the scope and unit before comparing rates.
SystemPublished rangeScopeSource update
Attic insulation installation$1.00–$3.00 / ft²materials and installation
Attic insulation installation: inclusions and source

Market: United States — broad national editorial reference; USD. Includes: The article’s broad attic insulation project rate.

Excluded or requiring quote confirmation: Old insulation removal, air sealing, remediation, access work, inspection and tax need separate confirmation.

No particular product, depth or target R is guaranteed by this range. Blown-in and foam-specific reports use different scopes.

Angi: Attic insulation installation cost research · Updated 2026-07-09; checked 2026-10-04.

Inspect the existing attic first

Measure several locations and identify the existing material and condition. Note access height, stored items, ducts, penetrations and ventilation paths. A known existing R-value is preferable to a depth estimate; depth-derived R depends on product and condition. Have unsuitable or damaged material assessed before assuming it can remain.

Specify whether air sealing, ventilation baffles, access-hatch treatment and removal are included. Insulation quantity does not include the work needed to establish a safe, continuous thermal and air-control boundary.

Quote the thermal deficit

For existing US R-19 and a custom R-49 target, the deficit is R-30. If the selected new material declares R-3.5 per inch for the intended application, a linear planning estimate gives 30 / 3.5 = 8.571 in additional thickness. Loose-fill bags must still be selected from the manufacturer’s chart for the intended additional resistance; a calculated depth is not a coverage curve.

When existing R already meets the target, the top-up quantity is zero. That does not prove air leakage, moisture or insulation distribution needs no work.

Compare retrofit scopes

Request quantities, product, installed and settled thickness where relevant, access work, air sealing, barriers, removal, labor, delivery and tax. Identify the quote’s locality, date and currency. This October 2026 guide does not publish unsupported installed-rate ranges. ENERGY STAR’s retrofit table is a reference with separate existing-insulation cases; a project’s applicable code and chosen energy pathway still need verification.

Sources and boundaries

ENERGY STAR: Recommended Home Insulation R-Values

Open the source · Web guidance; edition not stated · Reference checked 2026-10-04

Scope: US residential retrofit recommendations

Used for: Displayed climate-zone attic reference table.

Does not establish: Local adopted-code compliance; Manufacturer bag coverage.

The page states its guidance is based on 2021 IECC Table R402.1.3; preserve separate bare-attic and existing-insulation columns.

ENERGY STAR: Well-Insulated and Sealed Attic

Open the source · Web guidance; edition not stated · Reference checked 2026-10-04

Scope: Attic air sealing and insulation planning

Used for: Measure existing insulation before top-up; Air-sealing context.

Does not establish: Exact product R per inch; Universal installed depth.

Measured depth can estimate existing performance; product and condition remain important.

Angi: Angi: Attic insulation installation cost research

Open the source · 2026 cost research · Reference checked 2026-10-04 · Published/updated 2026-07-09

Scope: US editorial market pricing research

Used for: materials and installation price range per ft².

Does not establish: Construction specifications; Product thermal properties; Local code; Contractor quote; Other national markets.

No particular product, depth or target R is guaranteed by this range. Blown-in and foam-specific reports use different scopes.